

Minutes

Annual Meeting of the General Assembly

1 July 2008 Bournemouth International Centre

Present

335 authorities in full membership and 22 authorities in corporate membership were represented at the meeting.

1. Appointment of President and Vice-Presidents

The Chief Executive welcomed representatives to the meeting and invited nominations for the position of President of the Association.

It was moved by Cllr Sir Jeremy Beecham (Newcastle upon Tyne City Council), seconded by Councillor Margaret Eaton OBE (Bradford MBC) and **agreed** that Lord Best be elected President of the Association until the next Annual Meeting.

After a short address, Lord Best then invited the Assembly to consider the appointment of Vice-Presidents for the coming year. The Assembly **agreed** to the appointment of the following persons as Vice-Presidents of the LGA for 2008/9:

MP Vice-Presidents

Conservatives

Christopher Chope OBE MP The Rt Hon David Curry MP Andrew Lansley CBE MP Eric Pickles MP Caroline Spelman MP Alistair Burt MP

Labour

Clive Betts MP Mary Creagh MP Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP Barry Sheerman MP Rt Hon Alun Michael MP

Liberal Democrat

Julia Goldsworthy MP

Paul Rowen MP Andrew Stunell OBE MP

Peer Vice-Presidents

Conservative

Baroness Hanham CBE Lord Hanningfield DL The Rt Hon The Lord Jenkin of Roding Lord Bruce-Lockhart of the Weald

Labour

Lord Toby Harris Baroness Pat Hollis Lord Peter Smith Lord Larry Whitty

Liberal Democrat

Baroness Barker Lord Dholakia Baroness Maddock Lord Roger Roberts Baroness Ros Scott

Cross Benchers

Lord Laming Lord Ouseley Baroness Howarth of Breckland Baroness Prashar Baroness Greengross

MEP Vice-Presidents

Labour Richard Howitt MEP

Conservative Edward McMillan-Scott MEP

Liberal Democrat Fiona Hall MEP Andrew Duff MEP

Welsh Assembly Member (Liberal Democrat) Jenny Randerson AM

2. Election of Chairman, Vice-Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen

Chairman

The President invited nominations for the position of Chairman of the Association for 2008/2009. It was moved, seconded and **agreed** that Councillor Sir Simon Milton (Westminster City Council) be elected Chairman of the LGA until the next Annual Meeting.

Vice-Chairmen

The Chairman invited nominations for the two positions of Vice-Chairmen of the Association for 2008/2009. The following nominations were moved and duly seconded:

Cllr Sir Jeremy Beecham (Newcastle upon Tyne City Council) Cllr David Shakespeare OBE (Buckinghamshire CC)

Cllr Sir Jeremy Beecham and Cllr David Shakespeare OBE were **elected** as Vice-Chairmen of the Association until the next Annual Meeting.

Deputy Chairmen

The following were **elected** as Deputy Chairmen until the next Annual Meeting.

- Cllr Richard Kemp (Liverpool City Council)
- Cllr David Parsons (Leicestershire County Council)
- Cllr Keith Ross (West Somerset DC)
- Cllr Ian Swithenbank CBE (Northumberland County Council)

3. Minutes of the General Assembly Meeting held on 12 December 2007

The minutes were **agreed** as a correct record of the meeting.

4. Meetings of the General Assembly

The Annual Meeting considered proposed amendments to Article 4 of the Association's constitution to remove the requirement to hold a meeting of the General Assembly in December each year; and consequential amendments to Article 22 enabling the LGA Executive to approve a statement of estimated expenditure prior to the first day of January in each year and to agree subscriptions of member authorities. On being put to a vote by show of hands, the proposed amendments to the constitution were **agreed**, there being no votes against the proposal.

5. Audited Accounts (Financial Statements) for the year ended 31 March 2008

The Chief Executive presented the audited accounts for 2007/2008 to the Annual Meeting.

The Annual Meeting **agreed** to receive the accounts.

6. LGA Annual Report 2008

The Chairman addressed the meeting, highlighting the work of the LGA over the past year – setting out its achievements, particularly in taking forward the recommendations of Lord best's commission and looking towards the challenges ahead.

Each of the LGA's Group leaders then responded to Sir Simon's address.

There then followed a general discussion with delegates on a range of topics, around the themes of localism, democratic accountability and mayors.

7. Dates of Future Meetings

The Annual Meeting in 2009 would be held on Tuesday, 30 June 2009 at the Harrogate Conference Centre.

SIGNED:

Councillor Margaret Eaton OBE Chairman Local Government Association

30 June 2009

DATE: _____